Texas Bar Foundation

The Lola Wright Foundation Award, established in 1985, is presented in memory of Coleman Gay, who was a distinguished Texas lawyer and who exemplified the highest standards of professional ethics.  The award is presented in recognition for outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas.  The Lola Wright Foundation makes a grant to the Texas Bar Foundation to fund the cash award.

Must be an attorney to whom professional ethics are paramount. Given in recognition for outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas.


Past Recipients Lola Wright Foundation Award

1985    Judge Charles Barrow, Waco
Judge David Hittner, Houston

1986    Bob Snell, Lamesa

1987    no award made

1988    William B. Hilgers, Austin

1989    Orrin Johnson, Harlingen

1990    Judge Eugene Cook, College Station

1991    Ronald Earle, Austin

1992    Frank Baker, Bay City

1993    John F. Sutton, San Angelo

1994    Dean Frank Newton, Houston

1995    Tom Watkins, Austin

1996    Judge Ewing Werlein, Houston

1997    Louise Raggio, Dallas

1998    James B. Sales, Houston

1999    James E. Coleman, Jr., Dallas

2000    John L. Hill, Jr., Houston

2001    Charles L. Smith, San Antonio

2002    James H. Holmes, III, Dallas

2003    Beryl P. Crowley, Austin

2004    Lloyd P. Lochridge, Austin

2005    Guy N. Harrison, Longview

2006    Richard C. Hile, Austin

2007    Justice Douglas S. Lang, Dallas

2008    Scott J. Atlas, Houston

2009    Linda Eads, Plano

2010    Susan Fortney, Lubbock

2011    Harry Reasoner, Houston

2012    Fred Hagans, Houston

2013    Claude Ducloux, Austin

2014    W. John Glancy, Dallas

2015    Charlie Wilson, Dallas

2016    John G. Browning, Dallas

2017    Cullen M. “Mike” Godfrey, College Station

2018    G. Allan Van Fleet, Houston, Galveston

2019    Roland K. Johnson, Fort Worth

Login To:

    Donate Now!
    My Fellows Profile
    My Giving History
    Online Directory
    Register for a Reception

    Board Only

    Nominating Chairs



Follow us on LinkedIn

Follow us on Twitter

 2017 TXBF Nomination Award Form

Click Here For
Awards Submission Form






Copyright © 2019 Texas Bar Foundation
All Rights Reserved
515 Congress Ave., Ste. 1755, Austin, TX 78701
Tel. (512) 480-8000 | Fax (512) 480-8005
Website Powered by Ferreum